Yukon and Northwest Territories.—There are two cities and one town in the Yukon Territory and two local administrative districts in the Northwest Territories, all of which provide some municipal services to their local areas. These are not shown in Table 24.

24.—Municipalities, by Official Designation and by Statistical Classification, by Province, as at Jan. 1, 1958

Item	Nfld.	P.E.I.	N.S.	N.B.	Que.	Ont.	Man.	Sask.	Alta.	B.C.	Total
10em	Official Designation ¹										
7	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
Local municipalities Cities	67 2 384 275	24 1 7 16 	66 2 40 24	423 6 20 1 15	1,662 42 152 336 1,132	937 29 157 154 5977	190 6 35 37 1128	781 10 102 373 296 9	295 9 86 152 4810	122 35 2 55 30	4,186 142 639 1,151 2,254
Quebec and Ontario counties			•••	•••	75	3911	•••	•••			114
Totals, Incorporated Municipalities	67	24	66	42	1,737	976	190	781	295	122	4,300
	STATISTICAL CLASSIFICATION ²										
Municipalities in metropoli-	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.	No.
tan areas ¹²	2 2 	: :	3 2 1	5 3 2	76 57 19	40 23 17	14 7 7	 	10 6 4	19 7 12	169 107 62
Other urban municipalities	65	24	40	24	473	317	71	485	241	85	1,825
Other rural municipalities. Semi-urban			23 23	13 18	1,113 1,113	580 5612 524	105 105	296 296	44 44	18 18	2,192 56 2,136
Quebec and Ontario counties			•••		75	39	•••	•••			114
Totals, Incorporated Municipalities	67	24	66	42	1,737	976	190	781	295	122	4,300

¹ Municipalities grouped according to their official nomenclature, which is roughly indicative of size and nature (see footnote 6).

2 Municipalities grouped under the classification devised by the Dominion-Provincial Conferences on Municipal Statistics, designed to bring municipalities into comparable groups for statistical presentation.

2 Excludes 57 local improvement districts.

4 Classified by province as towns (31), rural districts (4), and local improvement districts (3); all operate under the same Act.

5 Classified by province as "community councils".

6 Rural municipalities are designated by different names in the different provinces.

7 Includes 24 improvement districts.

9 Excludes 12 improvement the same Nown as "suburban municipalities"; excludes 250 improvement districts.

9 Excludes 12 improvement districts.

10 Includes 10 county municipalities; excludes 50 improvement districts and two special areas.

11 Includes Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto (see footnote 11).

12 Classed by provincial authorities as suburban and semi-urban.

Section 4.—Federal and Provincial Royal Commissions

Federal Royal Commissions.*—Royal Commissions established from Oct. 15, 1957 to Jan. 31, 1958 are given in the Appendix, p. 1293 of the 1957-58 Year Book, in continuation of those previously reported in the Year Books beginning with the 1940 edition at pp. 1108-1110.

^{*} Commissions constituted under Part I of the Federal Inquiries Act.